Hey fellow guitarists, I've been playing for about 16 months at this point, and my biggest influences are guys like Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, John Petrucci, and basically just the virtuosos who give their guitars a voice. So anyways, I'm looking for an amp at this point--mine certainly doesn't fit the bill... it's... terrible. When I jam with my friends they admire the skill I can bring to the table, but without fail tell me about how poor my amp is in comparison; it doesn't quite do what I'm playing justice. So naturally I'm in the market for an amp, and willing to drop up to around 350 bucks on it. So the only ideas I have up right now are the following:

Line6 Spider III 120:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Line-6-Spider-III-120-60Wx2-2x10-Stereo-Guitar-Combo-Amp-103944740-i1168991.gc

Fender Frontman 212R:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-Frontman-212R-100W-2x12-Guitar-Combo-Amp-104506076-i1323510.gc

Now, I know quite well that the Line6 is widely considered very excellent for metal sounds (and I do have a good bit of fun playing metal), but I'm a player of not only metal, but primarily hard rock and your Satriani-style rock. So the issue I'm confronted with is: how do I find the amp that can give me all the distortion and fun of metal, but still be able to pull Joe Satriani type tones? Now I'm well aware that a guitar god's tone isn't going to be something you can get through just an amp plugged into any guitar, but I'm looking for a really wide range of tones here. Joe is by far my biggest inspiration and I practice several hours a day to someday come anywhere near his ability!
So anyways, thanks in advance guys, I'll be taking a trip to Guitar Center pretty soon to play around with amps all day and it'd be awesome if you guys could give me some cool ideas to look for while I'm there seeking out that perfect amp!
AHAHAHA, 'widely considered very excellent for metal sounds' and you're referring to the spider? I smell a troll.