Page 1 of 3
I'm been wanting to learn how to play an electric guitar for years and i finally have the time to do it. I love 90's grunge/alternative rock and that's what I aim to learn to play. Everthing from Bush to Collective Soul and everything in between. What would be a good starter pack to get me going? Keep in mind I have no experience playing guitar but taught mself to play thr saxophone pretty well when I was younger. I've been looking at this to start off with. What do you guys think of this package and how far will it take me. Its going for $200 at The Perfect Guitar. Thanks all
http://www.theperfectguitar.com/explore.cfm?STORE=Y&N=116&SN=154&CT=101a&PG=100744101&W=STORE&P=N&S=1001809&U=1&SS=1&CR=Y
Last edited by SKOOBEY at Jul 26, 2009,
Links not working, welcome to UG.
Better, Faster, Stronger

Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas State Wildcats
Quote by airbrendie
Hey guys in the last 3 weeks I ****ed all the girls in this picture, what do you think?

The starter packs tend not to be as good value as buying slightly better equipment seperately. If I was starting to play guitar I would buy a Roland Microcube and a guitar along the same price as a Yamaha 112v which is a decent beginners guitar. It does depend on your budget and what you want though.
im a total noob and not playing in a band anytime soon im not against buying individual pieces of equipment but i like the fact the starter packs apparently have everything i need to learn to play the music i like at home. if i buy seperate parts im not sure what items i need to get right off the bat to learn and my budget is $250. suggestions, links to individual stuff i need? im just looking to get started on an electric. thanks a ton all
personally i don't think $250 would be enough? maybe $300

But the problem is speaking from experiance if you buy cheap stuff you WONT want to play after 2 weeks because your gear is awful it happend to me, played for 2 weeks and got sick it because it felt like a chore