Hey guys, i'm new to the forum. Looks like a pretty good group and i'm looking forward to being here.

Bit of background, i've been playing bass for about 2 years, music in general for about 6. Out of all the instruments I have played I always like bass the most and decided to devote my time to it.

A few months ago I had to sell all my gear except my little practice amp because of job loss and hard times. Recently i've gotten a new job and am starting the journey of building a gigable bass rig that will last me a while. As this is the most in depth i've gotten in bass gear any advice would be appreciated.

Here goes what i'm thinking so far. I'm not looking for a specific tone, I would rather create my own.

Bass('s) -

Lakland Skyline 55-02
Lakland Joe Osborn 5 String Skyline
Ibanez SR506

Cab's -

1 Hartke VX410 Bass Cabinet (4x10)
1 Hartke VX210 Bass Cabinet (2x10)

Rack -
PreAmp - Sansamp Tech 21 RPM
Head - Hartke LH1000
Compressor - DBX 160a
Tuner - Korg DTR2000

Effects - Dunno right now, at least a MXR Blowtorch.

Like I said, any advice would be appreciated. Price is not really an object, though 1k or less per item would be ideal.

Sorry for the long post! Please point out any flaws in my logic with the equipment

Will update post with peoples suggestions
Last edited by CincyBass at Jul 29, 2009,
what about a fretless 6er?

Hartke has gained a lot of ground with them Hydrive cabs, I might suggest them. also try Mesa and SWR, I have recently decided I agree with fitz that they are the best cabs available.

effects- if bass fuzz like the blowtorch is your thing, look at bassfuzz.com. great stuff there.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom