i improvise and improvise over that and repeat all the improv until i like it ( im a studio guitarist if you can call what i have a studio, cus my band sucks)
and write based on what i get
what do you people do
i just wanted new methods
i just sit down and just jam away, and if theres something i like the sound of i stick with that and just expand it till i got a song, easiest way i reckon
My Gear
Guitars
Esp Ltd EC100QM
Esp Ltd EC1000 Deluxe

Amps
Randall RG100G3
Randall 2x12 Extension Cab

Effects
Zoom 9.2tt
I take a short 4 or 5 chord progression I like, and solo over that, then usually throw in some keyboard or organ over that. By the time those 2 parts are added I can feel the breaks in the songs, and know where I should put the chorus. I get a new progression for that and split everything up, and work from there splitting everything into sections and adding new parts until I feel it's so layered anymore sound would cause it to burst. My last 3 minute song had 11 different instruments/synth patches.
just jam, i would put together anything that sounds good...then i usually have a song i am happy with lol
[ ZAKK ]

Gear:
Dean Dimebag Far Beyond Driven tribute ML
Epiphone () Zakk Wylde Bullseye Les Paul
Dunlop Dimebag Wah
Boss DS-1 Distortion
Line 6 Spider III 12x10 120 watt
(very loud)
Multiple methods for me...

Sometimes i sit in front of guitar pro... and experiment till i find that something sounds good. Then I add bass, drums and other instruments along with other sections (usually takes about 1-2 hours).

Other times I write lyrics, then write music based around them.

Or i jam on my guitar till i find something good... and then stick that in guitar pro.

OR... if i'm 'lucky'... i'll wake up at 4am in the night and have to record my sudden inspiration on a dictophone.

I stick everything in guitar pro at the end (so i have a copy of it).... and it's ready to record!