Page 1 of 2
Although this is my 2nd build, my first did not go according to plan, mostly because I didn't really want/need the instrument. Therefore I'm probably gunna need a lot of help on this one. This time I do actually have a use for the instrument, and its not quite as crazy as last time.

So I've got a very exact visual concept of what I want the guitar to look like, but I'm not sure on the electronics or hardware. To avoid some of the problems of my last build I am probably going to buy a neck and then modify it if necessary.

In terms of why I'm building the instrument, and what I require from it, I am building it as although I am a bassist, it would be very beneficial for me to have a guitar, for a whole range of reasons. I do have experience in the guitar, but just currently dont possess one. Therefore I need the guitar to be versatile, but particularly I would like the pickup to be capable of some nice bluesy tones. I realise I've set myself a challange with only one pickup, but any ideas???

Anyway, the design:
Fender Jazzmaster Ash body
Trans Blueburst
Single Pickup
Volume Knob Only
Maple on Maple neck, to be bought, not made
Mother of Pearl block inlay

Another thing is I'm unlikely to start it til next week at the earliest since I need to finish my workshop first( a 10' by 20' shed at the bottom of my garden). Only the windows and electrics to go...

Anyway, My photoshopping of the design:

Its loosely based on:

Any advice on pickups/finish/hardware would be greatly appreciated. Sorry about the essay above
Thanks, Chris
Fender J-bass 24f
Fender Jaguar Bass
Schecter Stiletto Custom 5
Ashdown Electric Blue EVO II
Last edited by parkerboy at Jul 27, 2009,
Maybe a JB (Seymour Duncan) in the bridge position & '59 in the neck position?
- Ibanez RG7321 *Dimarzio D Activators*
- Jackson Dk 2 Dinky Transparent Red
- ENGL Powerball
- ENGL E412 SS
- Line 6 Pod Studio GX
- Ibanez TS9
- Boss NS2