Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar for 12 years now and I've seemed to hit a wall. I just hear songs now that I like but ... they're to repetitive, or too simple. I just don't have the urge to learn them like I used to.

This makes me seem like a pompous fool, but really I'm not. I'm actually quite humble when it comes to my guitar playing skills. It just seems like I've learned all that people want to hear and now it takes a day to learn this or a couple of hours for that.

Any suggestions on how to solve this issue? I still practice scales and songs daily, it just seems like it's getting old. I need something to revamp my repertoire.

Any suggestions? I play pretty much everything but Metal (used to but grew out of it I guess) and Jazz. It just seems like I've hit a wall.
-= Murdox =-
Write your own material!

And play jazz. Its fun and really useful. Try songwriting, possibly. Learn another instument. The bass guitar maybe? Piano? Get into music, not just guitar. Its what i did, anyways.
I believe in Rock and Roll. Can I get an Amen?

Quote by rizo299
A drunk guy on the the bus asked me if i remembered the 60's. I told him i was 17 then he told me that everyone remembers the 60's.

I thought about it, and frankly, I couldn't fault his logic.
yep i picked up keys and bass guitar. After a few months between them to i came back right into to guitar like **** into pussy.
Drums are really fun too, and a good stress reliever :P
I believe in Rock and Roll. Can I get an Amen?

Quote by rizo299
A drunk guy on the the bus asked me if i remembered the 60's. I told him i was 17 then he told me that everyone remembers the 60's.

I thought about it, and frankly, I couldn't fault his logic.
Quote by original_idiot
Piano? Get into music, not just guitar. Its what i did, anyways.

Learning piano has really changed and improved my guitar playing and songwriting ability. I'd definitely recommend it.