Page 1 of 3
I'm planning my first build, so any advice would be welcome.

Its going to be a flying V like alexi/RR. The build by Mintsauce is awesome, so maybe a little similar. I really like the clear/unpainted finish, maybe becuase Im not good at painting

So my plan is to buy the wood and then draw it out, becuase I guess any design is going to change depending on what I can buy.

Im going to start ordering bits tomorrow, maybe there is some good weather left. Im planning to finish this quite fast, so within a month, or two at most.

Going to be a through neck, I dont like bolt on that much.

25.5" scale. Same as my chinacopy.

*Possibly* a bigger cut out on the lower wing to reach the high frets - so wing starting at bottom of fretboard, and a smoother neck heel.

Pickup only at bridge.

24 frets

I was looking through Tonetech, CS, Luthiersupplys and Touchstone, LS and TS are quite close to me (30 miles and 10 miles). So the question is what do I buy for the neck:

1) Im guessing for a through neck I will want ~2" thick?

880 x 100 x 50mm Maple - Tonetech (same as Mintsauce)
850x100x55mm Braz. Mahogany - Touchstone
1200 x 100 x 55 mm Rock Maple - Touchstone

2) neck angle/ headstock angle. I should be ok working out the other stuff like bridge position and fret slots.

3) Bridges. I guess I want either fixed and simple/cheap, or floating. Ibanez bridges seem nice, but I guess cant buy on there own?
Something I noticed is that all bridges cost £££££££££££££.

thanks
Mark
Last edited by Kramdra at Aug 8, 2009,
You'' want aproximately 40 x 2 x 3 " wood, so 1020 x 50 x 80 mm for a neck through blank, I would personally make a laminate of 3 woods, e.g maple / wenge / maple, for stability in a neck through.

What do you want to know about neck angles and headstock angles? (they are very different things you know?)

I wouldnt cheap out ona bridge, good tremolos are expensive, if they are too expensive then get a hipshot hard tail or a tonepros or gotoh TOM, but choose