So, I've been playing guitar for a few years and I feel like I'm in desperate need for an amp upgrade as I have run out of patience with my Spider 3. It sucks. But that is not the point. Basically, I have a birthday coming up and my parents agreed to help me out with buying an amp.

As far as price goes, I can go used, but I'd like to keep it under or around $1000 US.

I have an LTD EC-1000, which i am completely content with and I'm not changing.

Now here's the problem... I play a huge variety of music. I need ultra clean for Perpetual Groove like songs, but I also play blues, and also metal like Children of Bodom, Cynic, Mastodon, yet also a lot of classic rock like Van Halen or Led Zeppelin.

If I'm spending this much money, I'd like for it to be able to do all of this, but I'd sacrifice the clean tones if I had to.

It needs to be able to be heard unmic'd in a 300 person auditorium or so.

Finally, I live within driving distance of like 3 or 4 major guitar stores so I can try stuff out.

Thanks

EDIT: For life was more of an expression... I just meant that I want to be able to go a few years without having to upgrade... Or something that I can basically just be happy with.
Quote by mountain2012
I want a Fender because they are THE American rock sound. I'm proud to be an American.

Gear:
1981 Gibson Les Paul Firebrand

Mesa/Boogie DC-3
Dunlop Crybaby
Boss SD-1
Boss NS-2
Boss DD-7
EHX LPB-1
Last edited by c0m2011 at Jul 27, 2009,
Check Bugera 6262 or 333XL. Maybe even the new one, I don't remember what it's called.
id try out a mesa stiletto. i have one and i can get an sound i want and do it amazingly. with my tubescreamer, i can easily get any brutal death metal/deathcore/whatever tone

edit: didnt see the budget. this amp is over your budget new, but i got a mint condition 2003 model one for 850, so they are doable in your price range.

p.s. is doable a word? lol
Originally posted by primusfan