Alright, so I'm pretty much a beginner guitarist. I've been playing for 4 or 5 months now. But, a lot of the music that I play is in all sorts of different tunings, and there's music that I'd like to play that's in tunings to low for my guitar, or are played with seven string guitars.

Is it a good idea for me to get a 7 string guitar with so little experience? If so, is it a pretty easy transition from a 6 string? If not, why?
Om nom nom nom!
no, just stick with 6 string for now and get good at that before you complicate yourself with a 7string. wait at least till 1 year/ year and half experience.

but hell its your money do what you want.
thats just my opinion.
idk man 4-5 months is not very long. id wait a little while and see how much you really enjoy playing guitar before buying more s***, cuz god knows guitars aint cheap.
as far as the transition, i found it easy to make the switch but its easy for some and hard for others idk why
In my opinion it's not to hard for an intermedite player to switch over to a 7, but you say you're a beginner. If you're just beginning i say you probably should sharpen you skills on on the 6 string before switching.

I myself have been playing for 6 years and don't find 7 strings nessesary.
Depends on how good you are at rhythms.
My grandfather would say: "I'm going upstairs to fuck your grandmother". He was an honest man, and he wasn't going to bullshit a four-year-old.

-Carlin
Would it be better to just get a baritone guitar to play the lower tunings?
Om nom nom nom!
How low of a tuning are you planing on doing? Most tunings can be covered on an average gutiar.
Quote by FerdyFerd
How low of a tuning are you planing on doing? Most tunings can be covered on an average gutiar.

I'd probably be venturing into Drop A.
Om nom nom nom!