i have a fender squier p bass and am looking to get a effects pedal for it, i play a lot of rock and metal and was wondering was it worth getting a pedal that caters for both effects or just getting a distortion pedal? i am fairly new at playing bass only having been doing it for a month and a half so any guidance is appreciated.
Last edited by toxicstabbyman at Jul 28, 2009,
Sounds like you're after something like an Electro Harmonix Double Muff. Works for me, anyway.
Quote by Andron17
Go away, I have an erection.

Bassist for Half My Kingdom.
For a bass you don't really wanna be spending time messing with pedals, save up for a really good amp and get your tone right.. buy a good amp and you should be able to get enough distortion for a good gritty tone without it sounding too muddy
Depends if you want overdrive or distortion sounds. Just be wary that distortion tends to blend into the mix a lot, but doesn't fill up space quite as well as fuzz.
Warwick freak of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join

Quote by elliott FTW
Damn you and Warwickyness

Quote by ScottB
Quote by CLIFF_BURTON
gm jack knows everything
+1
After only a month of playing you should be concentrating more on technique/improvment in playing more than anything.

You're better off just practicing at home or looking for a beginner band to play along with and saving up. Later on you should buy an amp, then a nice bass, then focus on pedals. Effects won't sound good if you're playing through purely beginner gear IMO.
no sig for joo
Quote by matttehbassist
After only a month of playing you should be concentrating more on technique/improvment in playing more than anything.

You're better off just practicing at home or looking for a beginner band to play along with and saving up. Later on you should buy an amp, then a nice bass, then focus on pedals. Effects won't sound good if you're playing through purely beginner gear IMO.