Okay so im a beginner I have a fender accoustic and im going through the fender method book and I got to the part where im learning chords. So that part seems easy enough..but then it says to apply the two that I learned in that section to a song.

That is the page from the book.

Can someone please tell me how i apply the strum?
on the section labelled '33' in the book, see the little 'n' shaped things above the staff? they tell you you need to strum downwards, from thickest to thinnest strings. the rhythm it shows you is 4 times per bar. there are 4 beats in a bar (in this piece of music at least) so you need to strum once per beat. then on the last bar, it tells you to strum the chord once at the beginning of the bar and let it ring out for the entire bar of 4 beats (so you strum on the 1st beat, then let it ring for the 2nd 3rd and 4th.)

the next section, the 'tom dooley bit, tells you what chords to play. its saying play the C chord for 3 bars (still 4 beats per bar and one strum per beat) then switch to the G7 chord for another 3 bars, then strum the C chord and let it ring for a bar

hope this wasnt too confusing

and sorry if i sounded patronising i didnt know how much you understood already, so i thought itd be better if i explained it as simple as possible
Last edited by Winsbury at Jul 28, 2009,
Thanks for the reply.
So for the tom dooley part.. I don't need to worry about the single notes? just strum to the rythem of the song?
The single notes are the things that are confusing me.