I can't really think of a way to phrase it to fit in the title, but seeing as there are 12 semitones in an octave, why are there 8 notes, and why are they the ones they are? What is special about an A as opposed to an A#? Is it just that most scales are 8 notes, and we chose c major as a sort of standard scale? Why is it that some notes are one semitone apart and some two, and why are they the ones they are, or is it all just arbitrary?

It's probably a really stupid question, but I'm just starting to learn theory, and it really bothers me that I can read all these guides to tell me how to use intervals for various things but I don't know why the 8 notes have the intervals they do....

Thanks,
Ollie
What do you mean 8 notes? You mean just the 8 basic letters? As far as I can tell it's just down to tradition

EDIT: Re-read OP. Basically the same way every part of music theory is worked out. Someone works out something that sounds good and comes up with rules to re-create that sound
Last edited by Nietsche at Jul 28, 2009,
We choose C major scale because it has no sharps or flats, it makes things simpler.
As far as semitones between notes I think some smart guy came up with it and the musical world just took his word for granted.

We choose notes that are in scales because each scale as a different uh, pattern of notes so to speak. If each scale had the same pattern then they'd all be the same.
Quote by guitar-guy01
do what this guy says, he is wise
Last edited by dma529 at Jul 28, 2009,
Quote by OllieH
I can't really think of a way to phrase it to fit in the title, but seeing as there are 12 semitones in an octave, why are there 8 notes, and why are they the ones they are? What is special about an A as opposed to an A#?

Beyond our notation bias that makes A simpler to represent, nothing.

Quote by OllieH
Why is it that some notes are one semitone apart and some two, and why are they the ones they are, or is it all just arbitrary?