ok, first post here so I will say hello to all you fellow musicians out there. I've done some searching around here but looking for some insight and opinions from more knowledgable folks. I've been playing guitar off an on for about 10 years, still just OK at it but whatever, I love it! anyways, I recently bought a Epi LP standard and really dig the sound through my old Peavey express 112 amp. It has a problem with the volume knob though when I turn it it gets really scratchy and loud, sometimes almost dimminishing the tone until I wiggle it back into the spot for "full tone", make any sense? anyways thats a minimal problem but if anyone has had a similar one please share any info you have. also, just curious to know if the amp is a decent setup or if I should seak out a better one. I couldnt find much info on it, but I assume its similar to the other peavey 112 amps ive read about. Also I should add, I have a newborn in the house and this amp is almost to loud to even run, I keep volume on 2 and I still wish I could turn it down more without comprimising sound. Just wondering if maybe I should pick up a smaller/newer amp, this ones about 10 years old. Thanks and any info is appreciated.
probably if you want better tone than you already have you should look into a small tube amp
Fender American Deluxe Strat, Epiphone Firebird Studio Worn Cherry, Adam Black S5ce

Dunlop Crybaby, Korg Pitchblack, Keeley BD-2, Proco Vintage Rat, MXR Script Phase 90, Danelectro Chorus, Marshall Echohead

Peavey Classic 30
Do you gig?
Cause if not I would just keep that peavy.

For you problem, I assume that the Peavy is Solid State. If so, then it's normal, SS amps have that bad habit of sounding like crap when cranked.
Quote by TheGrizz
^nope I do not gig, thanks for the quick replies guys!

Well then seems like you don't really need a new amp, but if you wanna upgrade your your gear (wich is totally legit after 10 years of playing) then do it, look at some low wattage tube amps.