Hi all, i am fairly new to playing guitar (about 3 weeks of practise so far) and iv mainly focused on open chords and switching between them and iv just got almost all my changes quick and smooth, some are a little rough but their getting there plus a little theory including chord construction and im about to start working on some scales.

I am now trying to learn to play a few songs and im looking at the chord listings for songs and im finding it hard to work out the strumming patterns when i listen to the songs. Are their any tips people have for working out the strumming patterns.

Also what scales should i focus more on learning, im into blues/rock stuff so i know the major and pentatonic scales are useful plus the blues scale but am i missing any. I really appreciate any advice, thanks
Strumming patterns are the rhythm of a song, so try tapping out the beat of the guitar strumming with your finger/hand on some surface. Once you've got that down it's just a question of moving from the imprecise tapping on a surface to the more precise strumming on a guitar. All that is is practice. As for whether to play up or downstrokes, i would say seeing as you've been playing only 3 weeks just start with whatever you can, then move onto the different sounds techniques for each.

If you want a simple pattern try looking at green day - almost all fairly simply strummed open chords/power chords.

you won't fully understand/appreciate the major/pentatonic scales yet so just stick to those for now there isno point moving onto more complex ones until you have a good feel of those. Indeed some really good guitarists seem never to move beyond them :p
The only 6 words that can make you a better guitarist:

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more
First learn the technique of the actual patterns.

A lot of figuring out what someone else does, has to do with your own skill.