So I've decided I need an audio interface to take my quality to the next level. Currently I record direct using the Line6 2.0 straight into my line-in of my soundcard....and I'm not getting to where i want to be.

I've pretty much hit my peak for recording quality and need a decent interface to get to that next level. I've heard about a few different interfaces like the mbox 2 from digidesign and a few motu models....but I'm still pretty new to interfaces and wanted to get some opinions on what manufacturer and or model would be the best to go with for a budget of no more than 700$.

It seems that most of the DI I've found come standard with 24-Bit/96Khz processing...so what other qualities do you guys find most important.
Audacity. Its free. And good.
You can use a custom sample rate, so as long as your comp can keep up, you can get really good quality recordings.

And as for an interface, I personally go Guitar->Amp->Line-In.
To do that, you have to get a 3.5mm to 1/4" converter ($4 at RadioShack).
But you could use a Line 6 Pod.
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
Last edited by JagerSlushy at Jul 29, 2009,
^--- Audacity is software not an interface. I believe he is asking for recommendations on hardware.

I use an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra and it works great for me.

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/MAudio-FastTrack-Ultra-USB-2.0-Audio-Interface?sku=241806