so ive been playing bass for almost 4 years, and now im getting into more melodic lines, rather than structured bass lines following the root notes. ive noticed im kinda stuck playing the same rhythms, and have really now melody, it just kind of sounds like a weird bassline. lately ive been looping a chord progression and been trying to play lead on top of it, but i cant think melodically. anyone have any advice on how to play more of a lead than a bassline? ive always been more of a right brained (i think) person and been a math and science guy, not with a huge creative side to me. so that might be why im leaning toward a structured line.
Gear:
Musicman Stingray 4 string HH
Tech 21 Sansamp Para Driver
Ampeg V-4B
Ampeg SVT-212AV 2x12

Gibson SG Standard
Vox AC15
Keeley compressor
Keeley Dark Side
Boss RC-2 Loop
Korg Pandora
Crybaby Wah
I'm a science guy, yet melodic lines are second nature to me, so the entire "right/left side" thing doesn't really count for much there.

The trick is making melodic bassines whilst fitting with the drums. Be the link between drums and vocals. Listen to vocalists. Brush up on your theory.
too bad i don't have a vocalist at the moment . usually its just me and a drummer and we just jam and try out different styles wherever our jam goes. ive been using the CAGED system of mode patterns, arpeggios to shape the chord, and maybe some pentatonics when its just a simple minor chord. my bass teacher and i just went over the "Hotel California" with the stacking 5ths. its a really interesting progression, but usually i come up with a good little lick, and i keep repeating that same rhythm unintentionally with different notes because i think it sounds good.
Gear:
Ampeg V-4B
Ampeg SVT-212AV 2x12

Gibson SG Standard
Vox AC15
Keeley compressor
Keeley Dark Side
Boss RC-2 Loop
Korg Pandora
Crybaby Wah
Hey hey man,