Page 1 of 2
I remember there being a thread just like this and I was searching for it but it was gone so I figured why not make a new on?

Well what is the hardest/most recent solo you can play? And by most recent I mean the one that you may have just worked on or learned. Then after you list that, look up to the above user's post and rate the song's solo. If you haven't heard it, look it up on youtube!!
"My jedi powers are far more superior than yours"
Hardest? Probably the two slower solos at the beginning of One, by Metallica. I'm still a bit of a newbie, and can't play the faster solos.

Recently I'm working on the Sunshine of your Love solo. It's beautiful, and I'm trying to get the timing and bends and emotion just right.

Rating: I love the Freebird solo! It's very long, but it sounds amazing. The song's a classic for a reason.
I started soloing about six months ago, until then I never tried. But I recently figured out a few, the hardest is up to debate. Ive been improvising on stage for a few months, and after a while, they all sounded the same, so I decided to learn some, to help me grow, its working.

Blood to Bleed - Rise Against
Beverly Hills - Weezer
Ohio - CSNY
Still working on the intro to Little Wing

Solos are tough, but great practice.
1981 Gibson Les Paul Custom (Black Beauty)
1980 Marshall JMP 2204
EDIT: To Red Coment:
Yeah thats where I started too, on the One solos. The final solo is pretty easy, it's just tapping then a few bends and a walk down. I think if you practice it you'll get it

I just got the Beast and the Harlot (Avenged Sevenfold) solo down. All those little chromatic runs messed me up for a bit, I'm not used to putting all four fingers down
"My jedi powers are far more superior than yours"
Last edited by RabbidWolf at Jul 29, 2009,
Just a quick question, when you guys learn solos, do you learn the scale that its played in first, or screw it and just learn the solo?
Its been awhile, but I used to know the solos to: