So I have been considering buying an Epiphone les paul standard plain (black). But I am reconsidering it now because i am finding out that there are so many guitars by Squire, Ibanez, Esp, BC Rich, Jackson, etc. that seem to be cheaper. Is there a reason why many of these guitars range from $100-$400 while the les pauls (at least the ones I am looking into) are $400-$800? Is it a matter of versatility where the epiphone les pauls can play a greater range of different genres then say the Esp or Ibanez can? Or are the les pauls better quality guitars? I wanna purchase a guitar that is versatile and can play different genres. I am really into GNR and other bluesy rock but I am also a huge fan of thrash metal like Metallica, Megadeth, Overkill, etc.

PS. My budget is around $500
I've been playing acoustic guitar for 2 years
I would like to play everything from GNR to Nirvana and from RHCP to Metallica.
I am also consdering buying either a Line 6 Spider 30w or a Fender FM 25 DSP Frontman Combo Amp.

Please help me decide what guitar to buy UG!
Stick with the Epiphone Les Paul for a guitar. It does everything you mentioned well.

As for the amp, avoid those two. If you want an amp $200>, get a Vox VT15 or Peavey Vypyr. If you are willing to go $500> for the amp as well, get a used 5150 combo if you can find one, or a B-52 AT112
Quote by user_nameless
You can go ahead and sponge my bob.

/notfunnyatalljoke.

Quote by halo43
When you date a vegetarian, you're the only meat they'll ever eat.
Last edited by tmfiore at Jul 29, 2009,
stick with the epiphone les paul good amps to look at are the peavey vyper, roland cube and vox valvetronix
Don' Get A Shredder Guitar If It Has A Floyd Rose Bridge (The one with The Buttons) Cause It'll Be A Pain To Change Strings.