So, I'm just starting to get interested in Bass guitar, and I'm finally willing to take the plunge. Of course, I'm going down the Squier route. However, I'd liek to know what's better for my sort of music.

On guitar, I play mostly grunge and bluesy stuff, but I want to be able to play Bass music that takes more of a centre stage. Metal, Alternative (akin to Red Hot Chili Peppers. ), Funk, Hip-Hop. This is the music I'd LOVE to play on Bass.

However, which bass is better suited for me. Once again, I'm a complete novice at bass, having only played bass runs on my guitar. Anyways, what guitar would be best for me, a begginer, and would be well-suited for band playing?

Jazz Bass, P-Bass, Vintage Modified, Affinities? *X budget*
I suggest a the J-Bass jumpstart pack or whatever it's called. Really good price for a bass and an amp. I'm not sure if you already have a bass amp though, if you didn't you might as well get just the bass.
Only way you can really tell is by going to a music store and playing all the basses in your $ range you can and see which you like best. If your going the Squier route I would suggest the VM series, it's a great beginner bass and will last you for a decent amount of time.

As for P or J? Gotta see which you prefer. I like the P bass because I have larger hands so the neck feels better in my hands than a J neck, however the P is kind of a one trick pony(though it does that rick very, very well). The J will be more versatile in the tonal department, and if you want a fast neck it's probably the way to go for you.

Best advice I can give is just to go play as many as you can, and see which one just "clicks". Good luck on the hunt!
Considering what you want to play, the J bass.
Quote by Bloodavian
Its not about the Radio its about talent, the front man has a bigger vocal range than Micheal Jackson and he can sing from heavey metal to high pitched ...No.12 on the top 20 under rated guitarists of ALL TIME...etc

1-Bloodavian 0-Forkman.

^Fail^