Hi first time poster, but have been a lurker here for some time.
I save searched and read many threads over the topic, but somehow just dont get it.
please go easy on me ha!

anyway to the point..
I have been playing guitar for many years. I never actually practiced for hours a day running scales and such like i maybe should have. Now im 36 and looking to greatly improve my lead ability in a year.
problem is..how do you build speed?
what is best scale to learn and use for speed building?
i have been practicing with one, i believe is a g major?

im just not sure im getting anywhere.. I understand to play fast you must master playing it slowly, which i have done, but when it comes time to speed it up, it just isnt there.

HELP!!
I want to shred before i grow old!!

you can hear some of my stuff here..

www.myspace.com/chaossessions

thanks for your time and help, these forums rule!
Scales do NOT help you build speed, at least no more than practicing anything else - that's not what they're for.

Simple answer, you build speed by forgetting about speed - you should never try to play something faster. Concentrate on playing accurately and cleanly in everything you do and work on keeping your movements economical. If you focus on that you'll gradually be able to play faster but you have to be patient.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Playing scales straight up and down will only teach you to play scales. Practice them in different patterns so you at least have some chance of using what you practice.