Just a thread about your guitar shopping nightmares!

So today, I walked into Guitar Center. Normal, pretty laxed business. Same environment. Not much has changed. Call me a total noob, but this was the first time I actually got to sit down and play some guitars.

I found two of the guitars on my list. Schecter Hellraiser C-1 and ESP EC-1000. There were about 15 guitars on my list.

Right away I noticed on the EC-1000 models, strings were missing and the tone knobs had been taken off. What kind of quality is that? I can't take a guitar for a spin with strings and knobs missing. There were two, black cherry and vintage black. The vintage black made me want to throw up. Feeling so... gross against my skin. But it was only missing a knob, so this one was a "good" one. I was dissapointed.

So the Hellraiser, also missing a knob (the neck wasn't that bad actually. I didn't mind it.) But again, was not impressed.

The store doesn't keep C-1 Classics in stock. They had a C-1 A/E (Guitar Center Exclusive) which was a lot like a Cort M900, but with schecter's name on it. Piezzo, two Duncan pickups (I think Jazz and '59) and it was a semi hollow body. Loved it, actually. Definitely will keep that in mind.

Tried a few Epi's, but my hand would barely fit around the neck. But for whatever reason, the Epi's were in perfect shape, except the double neck, that I HAD to try out. I loved that. It was really fun to play, but knobs were missing, the strings were old, fretboard needed some love and the pickup plascticy stuff (you know that stuff you peel off when you get the guitar?) was coming off, not that it really mattered. But it showed that it was sitting in there a long time. I would have taken it with me, it sounded great, which shocked me.

Then I made my way back to Gretsch. Heavennnn!!! Tried the 5120 and Gretsch Pro Jet. The pro jet was great.