Hey all - Newbie here from Kobe, Japan. Looking into buying my first electric guitar because I've had to leave my acoustic back in the states.

Hoping to keep it under about 500 bucks (guitar and amp) and playing rock - I'm crap so probably bit of a brit punk sound. If that makes any sense to anyone, I feel rewarded. I've heard that Gibsons are nice, anything other than that, I know that electric guitars have six strings and they get chicks

Any help appreciated.
Hmm. At a budget that low, I'd go with Agile guitars. You can get them from Rondomusic.com.
And for the amp, A Peavey or Blackstar. But $500 for a guitar and amp is really limiting.
And over all, avoid the Fender Frontman and Marshall MG amps. They suck.
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
well i personally yould look into any local pawn shops. they usually have pretty good guitars and if your lucky like me youll find a rare one for a good price. i found a clear guitar for $200! but when your looking i would lean towards gibson or fender if you play brit punk...for an amp, just get a small peavey, fender...i cant think of any other small amp brands. but you dont need a huge amp for your first electric.
well for u i would say a epiphone les paul special 2 i got one and trust me they play like a gibson i would actually prefer it over a gibson cuz its cheaper and its about the same for the amp i think they now make a beginners pack for it now so it should come with a decent amp i think its the same one i bought the amp will last u but its not gonna be amazing but for the guitar trust me that's all u can do for ur price range and for the quality of it its a very nice guitar u cant go wrong
Quote by gtosteve65