Taking advice of someone who has been here a longer time than me....clickety click...copy, click paste, aaaaand

Hey all - Newbie here from Kobe, Japan. Looking into buying my first electric guitar because I've had to leave my acoustic back in the states.

Hoping to keep it under about 500 bucks (guitar and amp) and playing rock - I'm crap so probably bit of a brit punk sound. If that makes any sense to anyone, I feel rewarded. I've heard that Gibsons are nice, anything other than that, I know that electric guitars have six strings and they get chicks

Any help appreciated.
Since you're in Japan, I'm not sure how much things will cost. But, are you just playing guitar to get chicks?

Either way, you can get a used MiM strat and a Microcube for that budget.
Amps:
Fender Frontman 15r

Guitars:
Epiphone Dot Studio
Squier Strat

Pedals:
Crybaby Original Wah
Boss DS-1
A Fender Strat (with a Humbucker) is great for punk...
I have one, and it's incredible...I'm sure you can find one for less than 500, and if you can't, a regular Fender Strat is still great for punk.

A Humbucker makes it sound heavier, fyi...
Quote by VikingGaijin
Taking advice of someone who has been here a longer time than me....clickety click...copy, click paste, aaaaand

Hey all - Newbie here from Kobe, Japan. Looking into buying my first electric guitar because I've had to leave my acoustic back in the states.

Hoping to keep it under about 500 bucks (guitar and amp) and playing rock - I'm crap so probably bit of a brit punk sound. If that makes any sense to anyone, I feel rewarded. I've heard that Gibsons are nice, anything other than that, I know that electric guitars have six strings and they get chicks

Any help appreciated.

Guitars don't get chicks.... good players do.
Quote by joedruane
A Fender Strat (with a Humbucker) is great for punk...
I have one, and it's incredible...I'm sure you can find one for less than 500, and if you can't, a regular Fender Strat is still great for punk.