So I am thinking of building my own guitar, for a variety of reasons. First, I don't want to spend 1500 bucks for something that I am going to customize anyways. And two, I want to have the feeling that I built my own guitar.

So here's the question, since I have never built a guitar before, can I succesfully build one that plays just as well as a professional one? I obviously will buy pickups and bridges (not build them myself), but as far as the other stuff (such as bolting the neck to the body or wiring the tone controls), is there no way for me to make it good? Will my pinch/ other harmonics not come out right? What are all the problems of building an electric yourself. Thanks.
=====Signature Currently Under Construction=====
just make sure all the specs are right(fret width,Bridge depth,the distance between the tuners,ect.) get the proper wood and paint,but yeah go for it,my friend wants to make a guitar with me and were gonna start soon,
Quote by RU Experienced?
I like staring at girls' boobs and seeing how long it takes them to say something and what their reaction is. It's win-win-win

Quote by darkstar2466
I once saw two snails fuck. It was pretty damn cool.
Dude, visit this site: http://www.sagamusic.com/catalog/products.asp?CategoryID=4&FamilyID=2&BrandID=77

I bought a Les Paul kit from that site and all kits come with pickups and whatnot. The guitar kit i built worked out beautifully, and the pickups were dimarzio evolutions. Only drawback is that all kits come with a natural wood finish, so if you want colour, you have to paint it yourself. Highly recommend though, nonetheless.
Gear:

- Epiphone Les Paul Standard
- Saga LP Copy
- Godin Seagull Acoustic
- Roland Cube 60
- Fender G-Dec
- Jim Dunlop Crybaby
- Guitar Rig 2
What are all the problems of building an electric yourself. Thanks

Guitar building requires knowledge and skill in several areas.
There is the woodworking aspect, the finishing, fretwork, general guitar set-up, wiring, etc.