My bass guitar is an Ibanez Sr 700, i just bought some new ernie ball strings for it.
So the gauges were too high so i shaved a lil bit off the peice at the end of the neck that feeds the strings through.

(The nut i beleive, i dunno the peice of plastic or whatever right at the end of the neck. where the headstock is. the peice that the strings fit in. and feed them down the fretboard.)

Now my G string (55 guage) now makes kind of a palm muted but loud more of a thump than anything, im wondering how do you fix that?
Im not that much of a noob at guitar i've been playing for about 3 years now.
I just know that basics but i know that that string sounds like it came from walmart.
Last edited by Saldrias at Aug 2, 2009,
Don't make fun of walmarts strings. I am sponsored by walmart, first act, and squire and i know quality. I like to mix it up with E and A strings from walmart and D and G came on my first act bass. It iz super epic. but i had to put on a squire head stock. Just makes it coolerz
guitar solo - "meh, every song got one"
bass solo - "OMGZ0R U IS PRO MENZ"
well what you should have done is lower the action at the bridge. shaving down the nut can be tricky. i suggest taking it to get checked out by a professional. oh and Rain_In_Blood, are you serious about the sponsorships?
if you shaved it too much you'll have to replace the nut. luckily nuts are cheap. I'd take it to a shop and tell them what you did(they prolly won't laugh while you're there) and have them deal with it. If you need a new nut make sure they put a graphite or bone nut in. I'd prefer bone myself.
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2
Quote by the_perdestrian
listen to revelation, for he is wise in the way of bass-fu
Quote by loudog93