WIP
NEW VERSION! YAY! And don't worry... that awesome piano bit that you all loved so much is still there ;] I'm just going ti end the song with it rather than put it in the middle. EDIT: Don't mind the lack of bass in the chorus section... I usually add that last, and i'm not done layering on strings and keys to it. But tell me how the chorus is anyways! I'm not good at them, so i'm trying to get better.

I'm trying to work on melody, and I think i'm doing a good job with it. It's a song (er... intro to a song) that's heavily influenced by Versailles, Galneryus and Motoi Sakuraba (Tales of the Abyss/Symphonia, Golden Sun(s), Star Ocean 3: Till The End of Time) so it's got a bit of a symphonic feel to it as well.

I would like to know how the melodies are specifically. If they fit with the progression, anything. Are the rhythms stale? etc.
Is it convoluted in places? Mixing problems basically.
Does it transition well enough? Or completely bad.

And anything else you feel like mentioning :]

NOTE: LISTEN IN HEADPHONES IF POSSIBLE, THERE'S ALOT OF LITTLE THINGS GOING ON AT ONE TIME THAT ADD TO THE TEXTURE AND "FULLNESS" OF THE PIECE.
NOTE: IF YOU USE RSE MAKE THE DRUMS ONLY MIDI. EVERYTHING ELSE SHOULD BE GOOD.
C4C as always :]
Attachments:
Closing the Gap (Version Five).zip
Last edited by DiminishedFifth at Sep 22, 2009,
I thought the piano into was great, and the swell in the string part really gave it a great feel.
I'm not a fan of the lead guitar at 13. It just seemed to be written down, without any feeling put into it, you know?
Key change is amazing I love it.
As for the main melody, I think it's pefect. It really flows well and has an epic feel to it.
The trills in the piano part are a little anoying though. Maybe take them down an octave?

As for what should go next, I think a slower melodic section where the synth/keyboard takes the melody would be fitting.

I really like this so far. Be sure to post the finished versiont (If you finish it )