OK, so I am pretty new to acoustic guitars and I have some questions. I just broke the D string on a fairly new acoustic, maybe 2/3 weeks old. I felt along the bridge (little white thing the strings run over, dunno if its called the bridge) and there was a little groove which I'm guessing the string got snagged on. Should I be pissed that there is already shoddy workmanship on this new guitar? Maybe I pressed hard and it created it? but not likely. Also, I'll be away for a week and a half and the guitar tech was not in today. Would it be bad for the neck, in terms of tension, to not have one string there?
just put the string on urself its easy and it has a groove cus the string sits in that groove
pro tools operator certified
agile in-ceptor 727
gibson:les-paul studio
fender:strat
ibanez:prestiege s2170se s520ex
esp:ec-1000vb
splawn nitro kt88s
genz-bends g-flex

Quote by Punkismygod
U sure u want a floydrose? those things will make your nerves explode
ok good point. I currently don't have any strings, so my question of leaving it off for a week and a half still stands. anyone?
So your saying that there was a groove that the string was sitting in? If that's what your saying than that's normal. The white piece is actually called the "saddle" and they are designed to he soft enough to have a groove dug into them, the groove keeps them aligned and in tune. Where are your strings breaking? On the headstock, or at the bridge? Also, Having one string missing shouldn't hurt the neck.

Relax man, the groove is supposed to be there. At least, if it's what I think it is, it should be there. The white things are simply called pegs, which are set in the bridge.

If I read correctly, you need a guitar tech to change strings? If that's the case, I highly, highly recommend learning to change strings yourself. It's super easy, and you can do it in minutes.