total musical and guitar noob here so please forgive ignorance. is this a good idea? My eventual goal is to play 90's rock/grunge and some 80's stuff like EVH. My guitar (yamaha 012 dlx) has an HSS set-up. Is it OK to just set the five position switch to the humbucker setting and practice with it like that all the time? thanks
its perfectly fine

/thread
Quote by Valid12891
I wish I had an extra sensitive third nipple, and a girl who was into that sort of thing.

Quote by _Ixnay_
In Russia, Winter Cold + Vodka + Big-Chested Women = No problem.

Book of shadows 2?
O_o
yes perfectly ok... a lot of guitars (les pauls) only come with humbuckers. you use that selector switch to find the best setting for your style, and if that happens to be the bucker, then it is
My Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Epiphone AJ
Ibanez Strat Copy

Amps:
Orange Tiny Terror Head
Old beaten up Peavey cab
Marshall MG30DFX
no, it's not a problem

pointless thread...
Fender American Special HSS Stratocaster
Ibanez 1987 Roadstar II Deluxe
Yamaha THR10X
Marshall JCM900 SL-X
Ibanez WD-7 Weeping Demon Wah
TC Electronic Polytune
Seymour Duncan Tweakfuzz
thanks. in your opinions the humbucker is the best pick-up for all 90's rock in general. thanks
Quote by SKOOBEY
thanks. in your opinions the humbucker is the best pick-up for all 90's rock in general. thanks

Not really, as humbuckers come in all flavors and all sound different. Pretty much what everyone is saying is practice with whatever pickup you want and whatever sounds good to you.
if you like it's tone then yes. and you probably shouldnt make so many threads.
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.

Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011