Page 1 of 2
Which should I learn if I'm planning to be a guitarist in the future... Jazz,Blues, or Classical? Right now I'm self taught, I know basic things, I can read treble and bass clef because of piano, I know basic theory, I only know A major pentatonic scale on guitar, I read tabs , I don't really know the notes on the fret board, I play bass also, I play metal mostly, I'm really into music, I have fairly good practical skills on guitar as I have experience, but I do not have much theory, I have never really took lessons. I want to get technical!

I have only 2 years left of high school ;( so I'm not really sure where to go... I'm thinking about getting into a band but I'm also open to other things. I'm not sure what I can accomplish in 2 years. I've been playing since grade 6 I'm going into grade 11 this year. Sorry guys I'm sorta lost still, I really could use some guides.

I practice 1 hour at least usually per day and can go to a maximum of... 15 hours but... realistically I go to 10 hours per day max (usually weekends or summer), I really can't imagine doing anything besides guitar. I want to go to musician's institute or something similar. I live in Canada.

Yeah if anyone has had these questions or feelings before please share your opinion on these. Is it too late? Am I at the wrong place at the wrong time? Am I not good enough? Anything would help guys, please hear me out!
sounds like youre on the right track. if you want to become a professional musician, as it seems, id start trying to find your niche. find the type of music youre most comfortable with. start learning some more technical aspects of playing (say, scales, some advanced theory, left/right hand techniques, etc). its not necessary to be in a band, however, the experience of being in one may be useful. as long as youre dedicated enough you'll go far.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain