Keep in mind that I'm new to the world of modding guitars... I've read the first few posts in the ultimate wiring thread, so please don't get on my case for that. And yes, I have used Google to do a little background research.

First and foremost, I need to take the pickguard off my Gibson Flying V. What's the best way to do it? The last time I did it, I had to solder a ground wire back on that snapped once the pickguard came off, and I had a heck of a time trying to chase those stupid pickup springs/screws back into their proper place.

Here are some reference pictures for you guys...
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/Sephiroth101101/Gear/WiresandStuff.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/Sephiroth101101/Gear/Ground.jpg

Now, what I need to do is spray some stuff on the pickguard itself (don't ask ), so I need the pickups and pots out of the way. How do I do that without completely destroying the wiring of my guitar? Or will I have to desolder all of it and solder all the connections back together? I'm not (completely) opposed to doing that, but I trust my soldering skills about as far as I can throw an elephant.

And while I'm opening up my guitar, I want to make some mods. First off, I want to replace all the pots with 1 Megohms from guitar fetish. One of my pots is getting pretty noisy, and I want to try something a little stronger than the 500K. I've got some pretty hot pickups, and I want the most tone for what I've got installed. I also want to install a button momentary killswitch. I don't have any questions on that stuff yet, but you can rest assured that I will once I actually start working on it.