Hey guys, Ive been playing for about 4 years. Not that Im into shred or anything really, but it would be nice to be able to play a little faster as that can always come in handy. Well anyways, I can play some pretty fast stuff, but that is only due to my technique, not the actual finger speed. Well just out of curiousity, I had a friend that just started learning guitar a couple weeks ago just do some simple repeated hammer on pull offs, something that is based solely on how fast your fingers can go and his fingers moved like twice as fast as mine... Anyways, should I just keep running through scales and stuff to speed up my fingers? My technique is pretty spot on, my finger speed is just lacking, thanks in advance for any help
Speed in your fingers has alot to do with how relaxed your arm from the shoulder down is. Try relaxing more while playing.
Gear:
Bugera 6262 head
MXR M-108
Gibson Explorer faded
Harley Benton G212 Vintage
^+1

Also try practicing chromatic runs in legato (hammer-ons and pull-offs)
like this:

1h2h3h4

4p3p2p1

And try stretching before playing to get your fingers relaxed.
I like metal

Gear (still working on it ) :

Epiphone SG G-310
Marshall MG10cd
Boss MT-2 Metal zone

Quote by DiSTuRBeD -26-
^listen to him

Metalli-freak
Finger speed IS technique.

/thread
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
It's true though, if your fingers can't move fast enough then your technique isn't great.