This is going to sound a little ridiculous at first, but bear with me.

I am a left handed bassist that requires a 5 string bass.

I'm looking to get a "Rickenbacker sound", but they don't make left handed 5 string Rickys. Any tips on how to get that sound without actually having a Ricky.

Let's say, within $1300 to $1800 dollar range.
Quote by Syris
This is going to sound a little ridiculous at first, but bear with me.

I am a left handed bassist that requires a 5 string bass.

I'm looking to get a "Rickenbacker sound", but they don't make left handed 5 string Rickys. Any tips on how to get that sound without actually having a Ricky.

Let's say, within $1300 to $1800 dollar range.

Nope

Flip the strings on a real Rick, its the only way.
Getting a Rickenbacker sound with another bass is very hard. At the end of the day, only a Rick sounds like a Rick. All else is pale imitation.
flip it
My Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Epiphone AJ
Ibanez Strat Copy

Amps:
Orange Tiny Terror Head
Old beaten up Peavey cab
Marshall MG30DFX
Build your own
Luna Andromeda dragon bass
Schecter Omen Extreme
Fender strat
Fender Labrea electic/acoustic
Peavey tour 450
Peavey tour 410/115
Galien-kruger Backline 600
Black Heart BH15h
Gibson Les Paul gold top (Knock off)
Quote by roaddawg07
Build your own

most sensible solution thus far.

just needs maple, a good rickenbacker pickup to copy, and the hardware.

oh, and finish.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom
Quote by roaddawg07
Build your own

I tried to think of anything to help, and i could not come up with this I'm really not on the ball today..
Try adding more delay.