I've been playing bass for 3 months now, and lately i've been starting to play Metallica's songs. The ones Cliff wrote(most of them) are obviously meant to be played with wah wah/distortion, and i was wondering if i should buy a pedal allready, or should i practice some more before i do? I also really like the effects you can achieve with various pedals.

I was planning to spend around 60-80€ (80-115$) for my first, enough for a decent beginner pedal? And if, what sort of, since i don't really know much about them yet.

Currently plaing with Ibanez GSR200, 2009 model(new strings this week too) and Peavey MAX112 combo.
I don't think you need to 'practice' more in order to get an overdrive/distortion pedal.

Just remember that overdrive generally accentuates sloppiness
signature
Quote by CoreysMonster
you know why rabbits are smarter than cows?

fucking cows start moo-ing around for no reason, but rabbits keep their mouth shut until they actually have something to say.

god I hate cows.
If you maintain a practice schedule then effects should be fine, just don't let yourself get sloppy.

I'd recommend the bass big muff pi (one of the links above) good bang for the buck and I love mine
no sig for joo
the bass big muff is amazing
ಠ_ಠ
<|>
/ω\

Tell me what nation on this earth, was not born of tragedy-Primordial
I'll have to see what my local music store has to offer, it's pretty limited. Otherwise i have to order it from other city.
I have a Bad Monkey and I love it to bits, it's great for anything from mild OD to near-fuzz.

Ibanez SR506BM
Ashdown Little Giant 1000w
Peavey TVX 115+410
A big ass upright

For a Muffish fuzz, I use the Supercollider (if you want a link to the place to get one, just ask me) and I use a Fulltone bass drive for a overdrive.
Warwick freak of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join

Quote by elliott FTW
Damn you and Warwickyness

Quote by ScottB
Quote by CLIFF_BURTON
gm jack knows everything
+1