ok I'm a guitarist of about 5 years now
and the other day I picked up the school bass and I loved it so much now every day I look forward to playing It
so I've decided to get my own

I'm looking for recommendations kuz I really know nothing about bass
I'm looking for the best beginner bass for the price (max about $600 Au)
I'm into bands like Tool Rage and RHCP

also one question
is it possible to run a bass through a guitar amp or am i going to need a bass amp?

thanks in advance
You are going to need a bass amp! Else you'll kill your guitar amp... or so I've heard...
that is quite sexy

but squier?
from what ive seen of their guitars i can say im less than impressed
Its possible, but guitar circuits and speakers arent made for that much low end, and itll do damage to the amp in the long run. Get a bass amp. And the VM Jazz is a great value for the price. I doubt you would be disappointed if you bought it. It runs about $300 american, which is pretty cheap.

EDIT: Dont knock that one before you try it. It really seems to be a diamond in the Squier rough. It's much better than you might think tbh.
Last edited by qotsa1998 at Aug 4, 2009,
Same but dude this one is a keeper. I tried every bass in the music store and this beat out bases that were twice the price! The -ONLY- quirk it had out of the box was a high action but a quick truss rod tweak had me playing like butter in 5 minutes.

Also, I have yet to find an internet picture that does the finish justice. Its so beautiful up-close!

Just give it a try if they have it somewhere local and I doubt you will dislike it.
Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST...-Zappa
Here's a video of the mentioned bass
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvW-fn8m2WA

Also, would not recommend using a guitar amp with a bass, as said earlier, these are not made for them.