Hey, I wanted to get a 7 string, and I have never tried a 7 string before, but I heard they have extremely wide necks, which could pose a problem.

I have about average sized fingers, would there be any problems with me playing on a neck, especially if I need to really reach to the B string?

Also, could someone reccommend me a 7 string for under 500~? (US dollars)

Thanks!
Quote by BobDetroit
Directions:
Unplug keyboard.
Place it in your butt so you can't post anymore.

Quote by Fadetoblack5:03
You deserve some form of awesome reward, but I'm to lazy. Imagine the rest of these:

They aren't as bad as people make them out to be.If you can play well on a six string neck then you can easily learn to play well on a 7.It took me about 2 or 3 hours of playing on mine before I got used to it,and after that it feels as nature that play as my six strings.

What do you want as far as features go for the guitar? Ibanez makes some nice budget 7 strings,and the old RG7620/7621 models can be found for $500 or so,and they're great guitars.

WARNING!: THIS USER HAS BEEN KNOWN TO BE AN OPINIONATED ASS. ALWAYS USE CAUTION WHEN READING POSTS AND NEVER USE NEAR AN OPEN FLAME.USE ONLY AS DIRECTED.KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN.

You don't need abnormally large hands to play a 7 string, or even an 8. You just get used to it after a day or two, it's not nearly as big of a deal as it would seem. Your barre chords need to be even more perfectly structured then on a six, but you learn to deal with that.

Other then that, sevens are great. The only real problem is whether you want to play in B standard or drop A, since both are very useful.

EDIT: Used 7's are the way to go if you want cheaper guitars. They tend to depreciate in value because of the low general market demand.
Quote by SomeoneYouKnew
"If I said you had a beautiful body, would you hold it against me?"
Last edited by C/ruel at Aug 4, 2009,