So Ive been playing stock strings for a while on my fairly new guitar because I'm cheap. Now I have to get new strings. I have a few questions, firstly, should I get 11's or 12's. I'm pretty used to playing guitar, but my acoustic-electric has very high action and requires a lot of pressure at the first fret. I've been playing guitar in general for almost 2 years and I still feel like its work to play an F chord on my guitar, so I wonder if 11'a will be better. And as for type of string, I do not know exactly what to choose. My guitar is a dreadnought and has a very dark tone and I would like to brighten it up a bit (so I assume that rules out nylon). Thanks!
I would pick .11's, but I use really light strings on everything, so that's more of a personal preference.

Most people also suggest Elixer Nanoweb's because they give a nice, bright sound out of it.
Quote by BobDetroit
Directions:
Unplug keyboard.
Place it in your butt so you can't post anymore.

Quote by Fadetoblack5:03
You deserve some form of awesome reward, but I'm to lazy. Imagine the rest of these:

You said that you're having trouble fretting the string? You should actually go to a lighter gauge. Lighter gauge strings are slinkier and easier to fret and bend, while heavier gauge strings give fatter tone and are better for drop tuning. Unless you downtune your acoustic (yeah I know, makes no sense), I'd go with 9s. But if you think you can take 10s without it being too much trouble to fret, take them.

And D'addario makes some REALLY bright strings. Nickel-wounds are bright, but ProSteels are the brightest.
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
Last edited by JagerSlushy at Aug 4, 2009,