Hi I've been playing guitar for about 9 months now with an acoustic and I think I wanna start playing a bit of electric now cos I can't sing and acoustic songs are boring when u can't sing

Anyway my brother has a Fender Squier which I've been messing about with this summer while he's away, but I'll be going back to college next month and I want my own electric guitar while I'm away from home.

I've heard Fender Squiers are the best beginner's electric guitar but I really don't know much about electric guitars. Anyway I've been looking online to see what would be best for me and looking on ebay for good prices. I live in Ireland and there really aren't many good music shops in my area, the only music shop in my town is tiny and sells about 3 types of electric guitar, the only one in my price range is a Fender Squier I think.

So I'd be willing to spend about €350, which is probably too much for my first electric anyway. I found this on ebay, Squier Strat, and am considering getting it. It works out at around €220 incl. postage etc.

What do you good people think? Should I get a Fender Squier in my town for like €180 or whatever they're going for or do you think I'd be worth the extra cash for a better one? Or is it even much better? I don't wanna go blow my moneyzz on an impulse buy so please help!
find out which model squiers your towns store has first. if its an affinity, california or bullet series, go for the one on ebay if thats what you want. but i recommend looking at some epiphone, ibanez and other guitars first.
I'm on my lunch now, I'll head over and hav a look what they got.
Well, not that the Squier won't be the perfect guitar to start out with, it just gets very annoying to use after awhile. Btw, you are buying an amp, yes?

There's the Ibanez RG120 which is $200 new, that's not all that great either. I'd prefer it over the Squier though.