i know some of these questions mite seem basic but i am a self-taught guitarist and sometimes i skip things (on accident usually)

1) if A minor is relative to C major is a minor also called natural minor or is the natural minor something different? if so what?

2) what kinds of chords would i use with the pentatonic scale?

3) when would i use augmented and diminished chords? with what scales?
1. not sure if theyre even related, natural minors a scale.
2. i think it depends on what key your in.
3. when ever you want a brighter, or sadder sound than usual. don't knoq about the scales.
im self-taught too so i dont know much of it either
-A natural minor is the Aeolian Mode of C major (scale wise) - Am is C's relative minor (chord wise)

-Pentatonic scales are usually used in rock and blues, where the I IV and V chords are usually used (relative to the bass note of the scale). Power chords, A5 (I) D5 (IV) E5 (V) in the key of A, are also very common.

-Diminished/Augmented chords don't have a perfect 5th, meaning the 5th interval is flattened or sharped (respectively).
***No Advertising***

Quote by Anonymous

there are no stupid questions, just stupid people.
Last edited by guitarp_11 at Aug 5, 2009,
1) Am is relative to Cmaj and vice versa. That's all.
2) Like said above, depends on what key you're in. Play with stuff though and be creative.
3) Augmented chords work in a Hamonic minor mode. That's where you use the III+ chord. Diminished chords can be used to change key or replace a V chord in a progression to add tension. There are other uses for these chords and I suggest you read the Crusade Articles to find them. They're really helpful.
I think you're gonna basically need to go through the UG lessons... a few sentences in this thread probably won't fill the gaps