Hey everyone. This may seem to be a stupid question, but I'm just getting into recording and everything. The problem is, I'm a poor jobless 16 year old, who's mother just spent about 400 bucks on a new guitar and amp the other week. So she would not be too inclined to buy me anything at all microphone-wise. I downloaded Audacity, and I've been screwing around with that quite a bit.

Alright so the question I have is. . . How important is the quality of the microphone I am using? I have some covers up on youtube (search cdynckl if you really wanna watch them) and they aren't great quality recordings. The sound was from the video camera. So I wanted to get better quality recordings. Searching through old stuff, I found an old (don't laugh) videogame Logitech USB Microphone. Now, this probably sucks, but how much is this going to cut down on the quality of my recordings?

I'm guessing I'm going to be getting the whole, "The price you pay is the quality you can expect to get," thing, but on youtube, Rob Chappers said (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBOFbTYNQcE) that he recorded a whole album and everything on a 10 pound (sorry I don't wanna waste the time finding the cool little "L" symbol) microphone. Now that couldn't have been too much better of a quality than what I'm using right now can it?

Thank you everyone. I hope to get some good feedback. Rock on!

--Cody
i know a guy that got a fantastic black metal recording with a rock band mic

but thats black metal...necro as ****

shure sm57, its pretty much the industry standard
"If you're looking for me,
you better check under the sea,
because that's where you'll find me..."
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
i know a guy that got a fantastic black metal recording with a rock band mic

but thats black metal...necro as ****

shure sm57, its pretty much the industry standard