i've been playing with a band for a few years now (not really gigging though) and i've just bought a new amp (laney vc-30). when i use it with a distortion pedal i can't really get any volume or tone before the amp starts getting a lot of feedback, sqealing as soon as i'm not playing anything and generally being irritating.

imagine i know nothing about amps, because basically i don't, what can i do to avoid it? i end up having to turn the treble right down on both the amp and pedal, and i'm still getting a fair amount of noise.
i thought of micing it up through the PA but regardless, i should still be able to get a bit of volume before this happens

my set-up is simply

fender tele----> marshall jackhammer -----> laney vc-30

i know its an age-old problem but i've never known how to solve it, so sorry if there's a million other threads on this.

cheers
don't crank the gain on anything... that will help a ton if not fix the whole problem.

other than that, try turning the guitar volume down to 8 or 9 instead of 10

or, just turn your guitar volume down when not playing

and did i mention it helps to stand further away from your amp? woops, should have put this first.
My Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Epiphone AJ
Ibanez Strat Copy

Amps:
Orange Tiny Terror Head
Old beaten up Peavey cab
Marshall MG30DFX
Wait, the distortion pedal is the jackhammer?

Anyways, yeah, stand farther away, and just maybe don't face the amp when you play. Turning down the volume on the guitar helps also.
i've tried standing far away but its a small room!

i'm hoping to avoid losing any gain, the laney has a nice sound but its distortion capabilities = zero, so its good to be able to switch between opposite ends of the scale.

i'll give the guitar controls thing a go, but can anyone pinpoint what, specifically makes it happen in the first place? so that i don't have to compromise several things

xx