Hey guys, okay so I'm learning an amazingly difficult song, called Silent Revelation by Galneryus, played by an amazing Japanese guitarist named Syu.

In this song, there is a lot of sweep picking and a lot of movement especially for me cause I'm new to guitar but am practicing every single day for hours just playing tab and doing exercises. So far so good.

One question though, in one part of this song, Syu does very wide chords, I can barre, but there so wide that my pinky does not have enough pressure to hold down these notes.

For example here are some of the chords.

(D) C# --5-----5----5-----4-----3--------
(A) G# --7-----2----1-----5-----5--------
(E) D# --3-----2----1-----2-----1--------

Can anyone give me tips on how to switch/get these chords fluently besides practice (of course I'll practice them. ) Exercises, etc to help stretch my fingers so I can easily play these chords.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xwURhndOaE Heres the song and how he plays it.

Thanks in advance!!
Last edited by TwinBroz at Aug 6, 2009,
Start by playing the same chord shapes higher up on the neck where it's comfortable and gradually move down the neck making sure you're fingering correctly at all times and stop once it starts to get too uncomfortable, repeat this process often and over the course of a few months you should notice and increase in your stretching ability. The most important thing is to AT ALL TIMES make sure you're not trying to do something you're not capable of, in the case of stretching that can lead to injuries so always make sure you're not causing yourself pain or anything like that.

Also make sure that your thumb is low down on the back of the neck, if you're not already doing that it's proper technique for stretching and should increase your ability to stretch effectively immediately.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo