I want a guitar I can keep for a very long time (that is good), and I looked at the M-II and I've read that it's good for metal and whatever. I've got 800 bucks so far (i know it's not nearly enough), but how much do you think a custom M-II would cost?

I just want to have some nice inlays and a kick ass paint job, basically a very aesthetically pleasing guitar, kind of like the LTD M-1000, instead of the standard neck with dot inlays.

I don't know a whole lot about guitar, but I have been playing for 6 months on my acoustic and a first act guitar that my friend gave to me (i know it's horrible please don't flame lol). It's not saying much at all, but I can play most of metallica's clean songs (nothing else matters, fade to black, the unforgiven, etc), so it's not like I am wasting money on something I'm not sure of, I'll continue playing forever. I also need a bad ass amp to hook it up to, is the Peavey 6505+ good?

I know most of you are probably thinking, just get the M-1000, but that's not what I want!
From ESP's custom shop? $4000 or so before you add any options.Custom paint is another $1000 last I checked.Dropping that kind of money so soon into your journey with guitar is...well.....dumb IMO.For that price you could get a standard ESP model that's still a great quality instrument,a kick ass amp,and a bunch of pedals and still have enough money left over for hookers and ice cream.

WARNING!: THIS USER HAS BEEN KNOWN TO BE AN OPINIONATED ASS. ALWAYS USE CAUTION WHEN READING POSTS AND NEVER USE NEAR AN OPEN FLAME.USE ONLY AS DIRECTED.KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN.

Well my mate had his custom Mirage just built and it came out to be over double the cost of a normal Mirage but then again it was basically a whole new guitar. Umm a new paintjob depending on how hard it is can be easily accomodated into the cost of a standard series but new inlays is just basically going to get you a new custom guitar which you won't be able to afford.