I've been playing for about 9 months, I'm totally self-taught (never had lesson). I have progressed quite a bit but I'm kind of stuck here. I play almost only Death Metal and I enjoy the occasional Jazz jamming too.

I know some theory, a few chords, a few scales, I know how harmonics work both on the fretboard, pinch harmonics, I know the notes on the fretboard and where to find them, I know how tunings work. I know how powerchords work and how they're basically ****ed E chords w/ the barré. My picking hand is not really up to par but lots of tremolo picking, string skipping and running scales one string apart will help me out quickly with that.

I have two videos up on Youtube that kind of show my abilities at this moment -
Gorguts - Waste of Mortality cover
Behemoth - Prometherion (I failed in the beginning but it gets better).

What the hell should I start learning? Scales? Chords? What can I do to progress to "higher levels"? Or should I just pick up lessons and go on from there? Does anyone have any tips or lessons they can reccomend?

Peace,
Eryth

ps. I have absolutely no ****ing clue about diminished things and tritone intervals and whatnot, would that be a good place to start off?
Last edited by Eryth at Aug 7, 2009,
Learn to play some Blues, it will teach you alot about phrasing and will help you develop a good vibrato. Listen to some blues players sych as BB King, Joe Bonamasa, Jeff Beck, Robert cray etc and learn some of their licks.Go onyoutube and get some blues backing tracks up and practise using those licks over the backing tracks. Once you get comfy with that start adapting those licks and make up your own to use.

Also get a book on music theory and start learning your basics like Note values, Time sigs, Major and minor scales and chord formation.
Last edited by griffRG7321 at Aug 7, 2009,