Ok I'm a long time bassist and been playing guitar for about a year now, and for this time ive been playing guitar through my old 65w bass amp. I went through a stage in my playing where I was really into effects, so I have a pedal board with 10 effects, only 3 of them being bass speific(but I dont see any reason they couldnt work with well with guitar) but my question is i've heard that pedals dont always sound good through modeling amps, and I was considering buying a peavey vypyr 30w, mainly for the price and the different distortions I can get, since the only kind of distortion pedal I have is a bass big muff. Would my other pedals live up to their full potential through the modeling features of the vypyr?
Gear:
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Fender Jazz V
Yahama Pacifica 112
Acoustic B200h
2 custom 1x15 cabs
Vox AD30VT
too many pedals
As a general rule, modelling amps don't take well to pedals. Of course I am taking in account that this is a Vypyr, if you where talking about a Vetta that may be a different story.
"If you're looking for me,
you better check under the sea,
because that's where you'll find me..."
Vypyrs don't really like pedals. I've had luck with my Vox Valvetronix but everything I've read about Vypyrs and pedals wasn't positive. Maybe your modulations but definitely not the overdrive/fuzz/distortions.
SLAP energy drinks ftw.
Quote by ianae86
Vypyrs don't really like pedals. I've had luck with my Vox Valvetronix but everything I've read about Vypyrs and pedals wasn't positive. Maybe your modulations but definitely not the overdrive/fuzz/distortions.

most of my pedals are modulation effects, but the pedal I actually use the most is my EHX micro synth, so I can imagine that it wouldnt sound too good through vypyr?
Gear:
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Fender Jazz V
Yahama Pacifica 112
Acoustic B200h
2 custom 1x15 cabs
Vox AD30VT
too many pedals
Just came to mind, maybe modeling amps would sound better with effects if they had an external effect loop?