-------
-------
-------
--5---- - this is what i'm talking about.
--5----
--3----

How do you prefer to play such p chords, by barring the 5th fret with one finger or do you use two fingers? Also state your reasoning, this is important for me I'm just getting into power chords and both ways have their down's and ups as far as i noticed.
I bar if its in open position, else its thre fingers
Quote by CoreysMonster
Why, my pasty danish cracker, I believe you've got it!
Bar the 5, leaves my other fingers free to add in extra notes later etc
ProTone Pedals: Attack Overdrive
Fractal Audio: AxeFX 2
Engl: Fireball 60
Zilla: Fatboy 2x12
Carvin: DC700
Carvin: Vader 7
Schecter: KM-7 MKii
Schecter: Banshee 8 Passive
Jackson: DK2M
I use two fingers to play it, it feels more familiar. A power chord is just three notes out of a full barre chord, Which is played with two fingers there. Both ways work, but i prefer using two fingers.
Bar if open, three fingers if not.
Last edited by Sneezebum at Aug 9, 2009,
While playing a standard powerchord, I use 2 fingers. I have big honkin' mitts, so it's pretty easy that way for me. It also leaves your pinky free to add notes. I jam blues with my Dad, so having that extra finger free is a godsend. It doesn't really matter which way you do it, as long as you get the clarity of the individual notes to ring out in the chord. Just personal preference, really.
I use my index, ring, and pinky fingers. It leaves my middle finger free to add the 3rd if I want.
I'm that dude with the fro.
Quote by angus fan16
Long story short, a whale flew out of the ocean, landed next to me and shot like a wall of water straight into my face.
Index finger on 3rd fret of 6th string. Ring finger on 5th fret of 5th string. Pinky on 5th fret of 4th string.
I started out doing them with 3 fingers but my teacher told me to play them with 2, and I think it's the best way because they're easier to move around with 2 fingers and you can mute with your pinky