Page 1 of 2
I'm in the midst of a problem, I'm an awful guitarist. I've been playing for around 8 months and can't play a whole song, or any solos. I don't wanna quit because I enjoy playing but my playing isn't going anywhere.

I need advice on what to do, and don't say "just practise" as I'm quite demoriallized (sp?).

Help?
Quote by craig-sansum
+10000000000000000000000000000000000

Quote by Sanitarium91
Liking the cosmic toad vocals is a sign of exquisite taste, so good on you!
People learn at different speeds. Don't give up, that just makes everything worse. Just practice even harder.

And chances are you aren't as bad as you think.
Quote by DIMEBAGLIVEDON
People learn at different speeds. Don't give up, that just makes everything worse. Just practice even harder.

+1000000000000000000000
2009 (Used, w/ Tex Mex pups ) MIM Strat
Peavey Vypyr 15w
Is AASing for Blackstar HT-5 head and speaker
Is GASing for Kramer Striker Custom w/o FR
I.. AM.. THE.....THREADKILLER!
Acquire some lessons, and if you can't afford that, just talk to other guitarists, watch bands live, local bands, try and imitate what you see. Learning from other guitarists is seriously underrated, just go see any of your mates that play guitar, they might teach you something, or you can watch and learn, it's inspiration.

I'd also recommend learning some basic songs, just for your morale.
learn a song the whole way through, buy a new bit of gear like a pedal, pickup a album something that you wouldn`t really listen to, record your playing and listen back to yourself, join a band or find peeps to jam with, there`s loads to help you get motivated but thats just a few.
I'm taking lessons and, as much as I'd love to talk to other guitarists, most the ones I know are total egomaniacs.

And if I'm "not as bad as I think", why can I hardly play 16th notes for songs like Transylvanian Hunger or the (really easy) solo in Nemo or the main riff to Rule The World?
Quote by craig-sansum

Quote by Sanitarium91