Ok so I've been playing guitar for about five years now and I started out just playing acoustic. Now I have an Ibanez SZ and a Crate halfstack. I play a little bit of everything from Death Cab to RHCP to Opeth (my favorite band is Between the Buried & Me). I know I'm starting late with the whole pedal thing but I really know nothing about what's better than what.

So say you're going out to buy your first effects pedal set up...should I get a multi-effects pedal first so I can learn about all the different effects or what?

Also, is a preamp a good investment for my halfstack?
id sya get a normal and simple distortion pedal so you can leanr how to use it and be happy with your tone, my first effects pedal was a boss mt-2 (i got it as a gift) it was a metal distortion pedal and i had no idea how to use it. so keep it simple at first then get more complex later
Multi effects pedals are fun but not much on quality, start with some cheaper ones and work your way up to see what you like best. When I started buying stomp boxes I got a Digitech grunge a digitech x1 phaser, a ibanez weeping demon (wah) I had a multi effects pedal as well but that was given to me by a friend. I had a dod delay pedal an ibanez tube screamer, all kinds of random stuff.

Basically just start with something basic, some kind of overdrive or distortion and go from there.
Depending on what amp you have, you may want to invest in a new amp before you get pedals. This way, your pedals will sound better. Which model is your Crate?
Quote by sg4ever
+15,670,899,554,667,881,999

Quote by CullenT
+15,670,899,554,667,882,000
That was a post of sage advice. Listen to this guy TS.

Quote by AcousticMirror
my parents beat me for a's. I was like wtf and they were like just keeping you on your toes.

RG1570/PRS McCarty
Rebel 30