Hey folks, I'd like to apologize in advance as I know this has been asked a thousand or so times before but I'm afraid I really need the help. I've read the What Guitar thread and browsed the forums quite a bit over the past week so I'm not a total newb. My problem is that I don't have the average circumstances...

I'm not totally new to guitar. I've been playing my Jay Turser acoustic for four years on and off. Off more than on. Lately I've gained a renewed respect for music and interest in developing further as a guitar player. I know the basic stuff, how to tune, A G E Em F C D etc simple chords, a few scales. I can play a few songs and I've been working hard. My problem is that although I do enjoy my acoustic my passion is electric. Unfortunately I'm having a hard time making a decision regarding a new electric guitar. I'm hoping investing in an electric will help to make me want to play more.

The issues: I enjoy a wide range of music. Everything from Ani DiFranco/Jill Sobule/Bob Dylan to Anti Flag/Bad Religion to Talking Heads to Janis Joplin to Coldplay/U2 to Kimya Dawson to Counting Crows to Eels to Joan Jett to Moby to Oasis to Tegan and Sara to The Killers to Wolf Parade to... you get it. So I need a versatile guitar.

Also, I'm short, 5'2" (5'3" with my shoes on) and as a seventeen year old chick I'm not getting any taller. I have small hands and I'm concerned about the neck (I have issues with my acoustic sometimes - especially trying to do bar chords and the like) and weight.