Hey...

I've been playing guitar for about 5 months now, and I would consider myself somewhat proficient (MOP, Perfect Insanity...)...anyway I was just thinking, about how long do you think it would take me to get to a level where I am proficient enough to gig at bass and can play a few somewhat challenging or intermediate songs...I have never played bass before but I believe it would be an excellent skill to acquire due to the large number of guitarists and the considerably smaller amount of bassists...Anyway, just give me any feedback/comments/advice if you can...

Thanks
It's impossible to tell you how long it will take. Guitar is different from bass- just because you can learn quickly on guitar doesn't mean it'll happen on bass. Sure, there are similar techniques, but the applications are different- there's a difference between a bassist, and a person playing bass guitar. Challenging is subjective.

Master of Puppets after 5 months? Is it clean? To speed? Plus solos?
Quote by Deliriumbassist
It's impossible to tell you how long it will take. Guitar is different from bass- just because you can learn quickly on guitar doesn't mean it'll happen on bass. Sure, there are similar techniques, but the applications are different- there's a difference between a bassist, and a person playing bass guitar. Challenging is subjective.

Master of Puppets after 5 months? Is it clean? To speed? Plus solos?

Thats what I was thinking. Proficient after 5 months? Just playing the rythm maybe, and I doubt it's all perfectly clean. NO chance it's with solos aswell
ProTone Pedals: Attack Overdrive
Fractal Audio: AxeFX 2
Engl: Fireball 60
Zilla: Fatboy 2x12
Carvin: DC700
Carvin: Vader 7
Schecter: KM-7 MKii
Schecter: Banshee 8 Passive
Jackson: DK2M
Quote by pigeonmafia
Thats what I was thinking. Proficient after 5 months? Just playing the rythm maybe, and I doubt it's all perfectly clean. NO chance it's with solos aswell