I've been playing guitar for nearly 10 years, but my rhythm has always kind of sucked. I haven't had guitar lessons in over a year and half, and when I had then my teacher was always to hung over or felt to ill to ever teach us anything that I didn't know already.

I play along with tracks using Guitar Pro and play along with songs, but I still seem to be awful at this. When I jam with anyone my rhythm is always slightly out, no matter how hard I try.

I know people suggest playing along with a metronome but what exercises do you do with it? Any other exercises/techniques anyone can suggest?

I'd really like to get my rhythm playing up to scratch, anyone else had a similar problem?
Fender American Strat
-
Fender Tuner | Dunlop Wah | BD-2 | DS-2 | MXR Distortion III | Phase 90 | Small Clone | Carbon Copy
-
Blackstar HT-5 | Orange PPC 112
Yes use a metronome. Now, to play with a metronome start with quarter notes, then 8th notes, then 16th notes. You can do that however you want and just keep clicking up the tempo. Now once that becomes easy, which won't take long if you do it right, try finding some more complex rhythms (stuff in 6/8, 32 notes, dotted notes, syncopation).

Edit: Also if you're into Metallica or any metal band or a band like GNR their songs really do have some complex rhythms sometimes.
Quote by axethrower13
But you only die once, so you may as well experience it to the fullest.

Quote by ozzyismetal
Get her a goat. Bitches love goats.

Quote by Weaponxclaws
Plus, naturally I scream satanic rituals while unleashing the demon. It's a marvelous resurrection.
Last edited by Its So Easy at Aug 10, 2009,
Quote by Its So Easy